EduSmart LMS - User Guides and Videos

Edit Student Groups

Updated

How to Edit Student Class Groups

In this user guide, you will learn how to edit student groups in the "My Groups" section of the EduSmart LMS.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION: If your district is providing EduSmart with rostering information, it is very likely that you will see student class groups in your "My Groups" that you did not create. Please note that these are automatically updated every time we synchronize data with your district, so some edits that you make to these pre-built student class groups may be overwritten. If a student is no longer enrolled in a particular student class group but still appears in that group in our system, you are free to delete that student from your class group. This only removes the student from the group, and all of the student's previous EduSmart data is preserved in our system.

Any class group that you create must be maintained by you.

Click on the "My Groups" menu to access your student class groups. 

Click on the "eyeball" action button for the class group you would like to edit.

Something to keep in mind: In this view, you do have the option to remove a group by clicking on the "trash can" icon. You are free to do this with class groups that you create yourself. If you have class groups that have been automatically created by your district, deleting them will remove them from your "My Groups," but the groups will re-appear after the next data synchronization with your district. If you delete a class group, the data generated by students is not lost. You are simply removing the class group from your account. 

If you would like to edit the name of the class group, click on the "edit" icon.  Be sure to click the "check mark" if you want to keep the new name.

If you want to remove one or more students from this class group, just click on the "trash can" icon by the student's name.  Don't worry if you choose the wrong student.  There is a "redo" icon to re-add the student if you make a mistake.  When you are finished, click the "Save class group" button in the upper right corner.

If you would like to add students who are not currently in this class group, click on the "Add students" button.

Choose the correct grade level from the drop-down menu to display all students in that grade.  Notice that students currently in your class group are checked.

In this example, I want to add Chandler Riggs to this class group, so I have clicked in the check-box by his name. Don't forget to click the "Save and view group" button to save your edits.

Here is the updated view of the class group with Chandler Riggs now listed in the group.  Any previous EduSmart assignment data from previous teachers will follow Chandler after you add him to this group.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION: If your district is providing EduSmart with rostering information, it is very likely that you will see student class groups in your "My Groups" that you did not create. Please note that these are automatically updated every time we synchronize data with your district, so some edits that you make to these pre-built student class groups may be overwritten. If a student is no longer enrolled in a particular student class group but still appears in that group in our system, you are free to delete that student from your class group. This only removes the student from the group, and all of the student's previous EduSmart data is preserved in our system.

Previous Article Creating a New Student Group
Next Article Create a Student Subgroup